Our mission: As the authority and voice for school public relations in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the Kentucky School Public Relations Association (KYSPRA) will meet the professional development needs of its members and advocate for the employment of public relations practitioners in all Kentucky school districts. Click here for our bylaws.

What we do: We are focused on sharing best practices for school communications and public relations across our membership, along with offering professional development opportunities. KYSPRA sponsors spring and fall conferences annually, along with the OASIS Awards program. Through our website, blog, email listserv and social media, we allow school public relations/communications professionals across the Commonwealth an avenue for collaboration and learning.

Our leadership: KYSPRA is governed by a board of directors, which includes a executive board, regional chairs and members-at-large. KYSPRA members elect a treasurer each spring, with the other board members rotating up through the positions each year. The officers include president, president-elect, secretary and treasurer. The board of directors meets quarterly.

2017 – 2018 KYSPRA officers

Wayne Walden, President (Paducah Public Schools)

Jill McKenzie, President-Elect (Bourbon County Public Schools)

Hillary Wright, Treasurer (Washington County Public Schools)

Morgan Watson, Secretary (Warren County Public Schools)


2017 - 2018 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Wanye Walden, President, Paducah Schools

Jill McKenzie, President-Elect, Bourbon Co. Public Schools

Hillary Wright, Treasurer, Washington County Schools

Tom Dekle,  Past-President, Nelson County Schools


Nancy Howe, Grant County Schools

David Kirk, Owensboro Independent

Susie Hart, Corbin Independent

Shamarie Claiborne, Adair County


Organizational Representatives

Madelynn Coldiron, KSBA

Lisa Deffendall, KASA

Peter Mathews, KDE





Regional Chairs 

Click here for regional map

1. Wayne Walden, Paducah Public Schools

2. Malinda Beauchamp, Union County Schools

3. Linda Salyer, Daviess County Schools

4. Morgan Watson, Warren County Schools

5. Tom Dekle, Nelson County Schools


6. John Wright, Bullitt County Schools

7. Debra Vance, Covington Independent Schools

8. Lisa Deffendall, Fayette County Schools

9. Linda Jones, Wayne County Schools

10. Jill McKenzie, Bourbon County Schools

11. Debbie Frazier, Whitley County Schools

12. Karen Curnutte, Boyd County Schools

13. Susie Sizemore, Perry County Schools

14. Vacant (Please contact the membership director,
Linda Salyer, at 270-852-7000, ext. 214 to join.)





Contact Us
Kentucky School Public Relations Association (KYSPRA) P.O. Box 22436
Owensboro, KY 42304
View Map & Directions
Phone: Phone: 270-852-7000 Cell: 812-449-9057
Fax: Fax: 270-852-7010