Richard Thornton Award

Last Updated: 10/23/2019 6:46 PM



KYSPRA created the Richard Thornton Award in 2001 to honor the contributions to public education made by Thornton, a long-time KYSPRA member and past president of the National Association of School Public Relations Association. It is presented to an individual or organization for exceptional leadership and dedication to public education in Kentucky.


Past recipients:

  • 2017 Dr. Stephen L. Pruitt, Kentucky Commissioner of Education
  • 2015 Kentucky Valley Cooperative - Appalachian Renaissance Initiative
  • 2012 Brad Hughes, Kentucky School Boards Association
  • 2011 Doug Whitlock, President, Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2010 Cathy Prewitt, District Judge, Whitley & McCreary Counties
  • 2009 Kentucky Teacher Magazine Staff Members
  • 2008 American Printing House for the Blind
  • 2007 Rocky Adkins, State Representative, & Kentucky Dataseam Initiative
  • 2006 Armando Arrastia, Five Oakes Communications
  • 2005 Kentucky Board of Education
  • 2004 Kentucky Charitable Foundation for the Blind
  • 2003 Fran Salyers and Commissioner Gene Wilhoit, KDE
  • 2002 Kentucky School Superintendents
Contact Us
Kentucky School Public Relations Association (KYSPRA) P.O. Box 22436
Owensboro, KY 42304
View Map & Directions
Phone: Phone: 270-686-1000 Cell: 270-314-1778