Last Updated: 10/23/2019 6:43 PM

OASIS Awards


The OASIS Awards are presented annually through a partnership between KYSPRA and the Kentucky School Boards Association. Members submit entries across a variety of communications platforms, from press releases and photography to social media and community engagement. Entries are scored by a panel of nonpartisan judges who also include constructive remarks to promote professional development.

Results (PDF format, organized alphabetically by district):
2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009


KYSPRA also annually honors those who support public education and school public relations with awards. Click on each award to see the list recipients for each.


Richard Thornton Award
KYSPRA created the Richard Thornton Award in 2001 to honor the contributions to public education made by Thornton, a long-time KYSPRA member and past president of the National Association of School Public Relations Association. It is presented to an individual or organization for exceptional leadership and dedication to public education in Kentucky.


Flag of Learning & Liberty
Named after the National School Public Relations Association’s flag, the award is given annually to a person, group or corporation outside the education field who have made a significant contribution to public education in Kentucky.


O.V. Jones Memorial Award
For “Outstanding Service to KYSPRA and the school public relations profession.” Named for the late Superintendent O.V. Jones of Grant County Schools, the first superintendent to join KYSPRA. The award is given annually to a KYSPRA member for outstanding service to KYSPRA and school public relations.

Contact Us
Kentucky School Public Relations Association (KYSPRA) P.O. Box 22436
Owensboro, KY 42304
View Map & Directions
Phone: Phone: 270-686-1000 Cell: 270-314-1778